top of page

THE TWO FACES.

This happened the other day, when I was travelling in a train that halted at the borivali station. There I saw people getting in and getting out, as usual. This time, there was a difference in the crowd. There were two boys who entered the same coach. Both of the same age. One was with his mother and had won some kind of fancy dress competition and the other was selling rubber bands and hair bands to the ladies. My heart sank at this scenario. The one who was selling these things had a wide, bright smile on his face; whereas, the other with his mother was cranky. I was deep in thoughts after this took place. People were buying things from the little six year old. But, no one was thinking in a way that I was. This boy was happy. Happy, because today, if he earns, he will be able to feed his family. Today he will go home with money and food. To be honest, he looked at me that time and smiled a little more. I smiled back. Did that hurt? No.

We normally shoo away people like him, when you can simply smile and walk pass them. It is sad to know that there are so many responsibilities on one little child and still he manages to smile with a whole heart. Whereas, we never had any responsibilities as such at that age, at least. It is not that all of them have a heart of gold, but some; some really have a golden smile. You can make out from the face that who is worth the smile and who isn’t.

Coming back, this little boy got off at andheri and I came out of my thoughts. Getting down, he again looked at me and smiled.

It is said that ‘ Smiling at a stranger can at times make their day.’ I guess, that day, I made his. Understand the simple logic of smiling at someone, just because one of your smile might distract the other person’s mind from the harsh life they’re living, even if it is for a fraction of seconds.

Saying that everyone is not trustworthy is accepted, but, we do have a mature enough mind to judge the wrong and the right in someone’s personality. So, smile the next time you see someone like this six year old. Or anyone poor, in that case. Because, the smile you will get back from them, will surely warm your heart.


RECENT POST
bottom of page